Home

There has been not much to write.

On the art front, it has been a bit of a blank, hibernate-y time.

Today, though: really stepping into the unknown:

At 44, going to a Performance Art Workshop  with “renowned performance artist Guillermo Gomez Pena and La Pocha Nostra member Saul Garcia Lopez.” It’s a funded offering – a collaboration between the UC Berkeley Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies Department and The Ethnic Studies Department, with the support of the Center for Race and Gender and UC Berkeley’s Arts Research Center, aiming to “foster our community’s creative loquerias and create a space that meaningfully incorporates practice, through the arts, into our scholarship.”

I’m feeling grateful and lucky for this opportunity. Many applied and I did not get in. I received a call Thursday, though, that there was a last minute cancellation and I was at the top of the waitllist and she needed to hear from me soon or would need to keep calling as she hoped to have it resolved by 4pm. I called back. And now I get to go to something that I actually feel a bit nervous about. And excited. Curious who I am or will discover myself to be within this context. When I view his work online, I feel like a conservative.

jp_07_GGP_04

LA POCHA NOSTRA / (Guillermo Gomez-Peña, Violeta Luna & Erica Mott): La Pocha Remix: Psiho-magične akcije za narobe svet (La Pocha Remix: Psycho-Magic Actions For a World Gone Wrong), performans (performance), Stara mestna elektrarna, 13.10.2011; 17. Mednarodni festival sodobnih umetnosti – mesto žensk / 17th International Festival Of Contemporary Arts – City of Women

A good thing- to have the opportunity to be in such a context.

Maybe the sides of me that feel unexpressed, at times crazed, within the everyday of my suburban SAHP homeschooling life, will get a chance to come out and play, be provoked, find courage – with others. Whatever comes up in the next 2 days, I am looking forward to.

(I also made contact on Fetlife with a young Filipina woman rope artist who just moved to Santa Rosa. She’s seeking model/s/collaborators & she performs. I want to meet and maybe collaborate!)

(And the grey hair continues to grow out, and I just completed 2 weeks of 5 days of Pilates each.)

Leave a Reply

